Music for the Long Ride…

I rarely listen to the radio, but I have to admit that I became quite addicted to Spotify and the concept of “pick and choose your music for free.” Alas, now that I no longer live in the UK, and the concept of affordable unlimited data is greater myth than a unicorn in the USA, I had to give that up on my morning commute. On top of this little snafu, my trusty 160 GB iPod kicked the bucket before I returned to the USA, and I came home two months too late to replace it (Apple made the biggest mistake by yanking this product; Steve Jobs NEVER would have stood for this).

 

But I commute about 4 hours total, each day. And that is a long time to go in silence (though sometimes, ambient noise and a book, or just nothing at all is what the doctor ordered). I haven’t (yet) been reduced to pulling out the old portable CD player, dusting it out, and praying that it still works, but instead, I’ve been faced with the random hodge-podge of whatever was downloaded onto my phone the last time I bothered to load music onto it. I have learned that I have eclectic tastes, but some of the stand-out tracks from my early morning/late-night commute are worth sharing.

 

Reader beware: if you are looking for some highfalutin, Rolling Stone, Pitchfork – level savvy, look elsewhere. My tastes are shameless and I like them that way. So take a listen…

 

“Anything Could Happen” – Ellie Goulding

 

“Anonanimal” – Andrew Bird

 

“Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” – Cyndi Lauper

 

“Follow Through” – Gavin Degraw

 

“Teenage Dream” – Katy Perry

 

“House of Cards” – Radiohead

 

“Time Flies” – Lykke Li

 

“Weightless” – Natasha Bedingfield

 

“Why Can’t You Look at Yourself” – Release the Sunbird

 

“Can’t Fall Down” – Natasha Bedingfield

 

“Mercy” – Onerepublic

 

“Hanging By A Moment” – Lifehouse

 

“Secrets” – Onerepublic

 

“Raise Your Glass” – Pink

 

“Giving Up the Gun” – Vampire Weekend

 

“I Got” – Young the Giant

 

“15 Step” – Radiohead

 

 

Anything I should make a point of adding to my phone? Let me know….

Leave a Reply

