Funny Women Part 2

IMG_20150312_113806_edit

It’s finally time for the second part of my ground-breaking Funny Women Part 1 post. Wait, what do you mean you forgot about it? To be fair, so did I…anyway, two weeks after Part 1, here is Part 2…

Sarah Silverman- The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee

I was aware of Sarah Silverman before reading her book. By aware, I mean that I had seen some videos of her stand-up routine on YouTube. I’ve also seen her on Jimmy Kimmel a couple of times (and yes, I’m referring to this hilarious clip and the one that followed it). I was aware of her style and her comedy, so when I decided to read her book I knew what to expect. What should you expect from this book? You should expect exactly what the title says, stories of courage, redemption and pee. She writes the foreword for her own book, she even writes a midword (“literature’s very first midword” as she points out). Now, I should warn you, Silverman’s humour is not everyone’s cup of tea. She is vulgar and offensive, she is the opposite of “politically correct”. Her comedy is meant to spark controversy. The chapter in which she describes her struggles with depression is so well-written and profoundly eye-opening. I’m going back and forth with this book and, to be honest, with Silverman herself. I’m not sure I like her comedy. I do find her hilarious at times, but I’m also aware that what she says can be racist. I loved that she wasn’t apologetic, she didn’t try to make her readers pity her. I admire her for that.

Favourite quote:  “Unvisited tombstones, unread diaries, and erased video-games high-score ranking are three of the most potent symbols of mankind’s pathetic and fruitless attempts at immortality. Not to be negative”

Nora Ephron- I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman

A brief introduction for Nora Ephron: among the many things she has written, she’s the writer of When Harry Met Sally, Sleepless in Seattle and You’ve Got Mail (basically Nora Ephron is responsible for my huge crush on Tom Hanks…).

Why did I choose Ephron’s book? Well, her writing is witty, funny and incredibly serious. She jokes, but she’s serious. The title pretty much sums it all up. She is not shy to admit that it’s awful getting old, she dedicates a whole chapter titled “Maintenance” on what women have to go through to simply look decent, she declares that she hates her purse and she describes some of her cooking adventures. I loved reading Ephron’s essays for a simple reason: they are the voice of an older woman who openly admits that she doesn’t have a clue of what she’s doing, and yet her essays radiate warmth and experience. I loved reading about her life. Her book filled me with the need to visit New York (although, let’s be serious, I think everyone has this need, it’s just waiting for the right moment to wake up). I’m definitely going to get my hands on more essays by the amazing Nora Ephron.

Favourite quote: “Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it’s a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it’s a way of making contact with someone else’s imagination after a day that’s all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss”

Tina Fey- Bossypants

I cannot stress this enough, do not judge this book by its cover, just don’t! The cover is awkward and it makes me wonder “what where you guys thinking?”. Thankfully the actual book is much better. Do I need to explain who Tina Fey is? Tina Fey is what I aspire to become. She was in Saturday Night Live, she wrote Mean Girls, she created and starred in 30 Rock (three cheers for Liz Lemon!) and she is also responsible for the insanely funny Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (check it out, it’s so funny!). If Tina Fey is confident enough to put her name on something, I will watch this something and I will most likely like it. It comes as no surprise, therefore, that I absolutely loved Bossypants. Every page of this book is pure comedy, but that doesn’t mean that she doesn’t write about serious stuff. A large part of the book is dedicated to Saturday Night Live and 30 Rock and I love both shows so I enjoyed reading about them. Here’s the thing: can we make Tina Fey Queen of the Universe? Can we all agree to be ruled by President Tina Fey and Vice President Amy Poehler? In a time when the word feminism has become so demonized, it’s refreshing to find positive role models who inspire and, in a way, educate. Tina Fey, thank you for all the laughs. I sincerely love you!

Favourite quote: “This is what I tell young women who ask me for career advice. People are going to try to trick you. To make you feel that you are in competition with one another. ‘You’re up for a promotion. If they go with a woman, it’ll be between you and Barbara.’ Don’t be fooled. You’re not in competition with other women. You’re in competition with everyone

 

Leave a Reply

