Returning to Mossflower Country: An Essay

Some of my thoughts on Redwall, over at Fourth & Sycamore

By Michelle Anya Anjirbag

“Winter had muted the earth…” I remember reading those five opening words for the first time when I was about eight or nine years old in the Town Campus gymnasium while at a youth program trip during one of the school holidays. The sound of sneakers squeaking across basketball courts faded. I finished more than half of the book that day and then dove into the rest of the series. I was a committed resident of Mossflower Country from that point on.

mossflowerI don’t remember who gave me that first copy of Brian Jacques’ Mossflower, but it still sits on the downstairs bookshelves, though the pages have to be handled more gingerly now. What I do remember is checking out the rest of the series in bulk from the local library, the excitement of adding to my collection of Jacques’ Redwall series from the local…

View original post 2,409 more words

One thought on “Returning to Mossflower Country: An Essay

Leave a Reply

